TxDOT urges drivers to obey all traffic laws to keep children safe and avoid costly fines and tickets
TEXAS, United States — TxDOT launches its “Be Safe. Drive Smart” by reminding drivers to watch out for children walking or cycling to school and by offering safety tips for drivers and children.
“We have thousands, if not millions, of children in Texas going back to school. [this week]Bob Colwell, Public Information Manager for TxDOT Bryan District, said, “TxDOT wants everyone to be safe, so we’re launching this campaign in conjunction with our #EndTheStreakTX country.”
Colwell said we haven’t had a day without a death on Texas roads since Nov. 7, 2000.
“We’re not just asking motorists driving through school zones, but also kids to do their part,” Colwell said, “it’s never too early to start road safety with kids.”
Colwell said this campaign tells children that before crossing a street they should look right, left and then right to make sure no cars are coming.
“We’re also running the campaign because a lot of kids across the state of Texas are biking or walking to school,” Colwell said, “so it [this campaign] is for everyone.
Colwell said that in 2020, even though we had less traffic on the roads because of the pandemic, TxDOT reported over 400 injuries in school zone-related crashes, 11 of them serious, Colwell said, thankfully, no one was killed.
The most common causes of accidents in school zones are failure to control speed, driver inattention, failure to yield to a stop sign, and failure to yield to a private driveway .
“In school bus traffic, we had 1,214 school bus accidents last year said Colwell, “it’s something we think is preventable, it’s unacceptable and we want to change that.”
With all of this in mind, TxDOT urges drivers to slow down, stay alert, and obey all traffic laws to keep children safe and avoid costly fines and tickets.
Here are some fines associated with passing a school bus: misdemeanor punishable by a fine of at least $500 or more than $1,250, except that the offense is:
- A misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 if the person is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this section committed within five years of the date the most recent previous offense was committed.
“I think it would be more tragic to lose a child than to pay that kind of fine,” Colwell said. “That’s the whole message, the key to our program is that we want everyone to be safe.”